Are Vapes Vegan?

Vapes could be used by adult smokers who would otherwise continue to smoke. However, being an adult smoker looking to switch isn’t the only characteristic that could impact whether you can vape or not. Your diet might also play a part in this.

If you’re vegan, for example, and cannot consume any products derived from animals, you may be wondering - are vapes vegan? And is vaping vegan as a process? Some vapes and e-liquids might claim to be vegan; however, as there are so many different vaping products available, it can’t be said that every one is suitable for vegans. 

When looking for vegan vape products, it’s helpful to check the ingredients used to help you determine whether it’s suitable for your diet.

Ingredients in E-Liquids

While the ingredients in e-liquids will vary depending on the product, there are certain ingredients typically found in most of them. These include the following.

Nicotine: Nicotine is usually found in e-liquids, although nicotine-free e-liquids do exist. This substance is derived from certain plants, including (but not limited to) the tobacco plant. As it comes from plants and not animals, we can assume that this component is typically vegan. 

Propylene Glycol (PG): PG is a thin, odourless, and colourless liquid known to enhance the flavour of an e-liquid. When used in e-liquid, it’s generally used in conjunction with Vegetable Glycerine (VG) - explored below. PG is also often added as a preservative in the food industry and is generally considered vegan.

Vegetable Glycerine (VG): VG is thicker than PG, but like PG, is also often colourless. E-liquids with high VG:PG ratios are commonly associated with more vapour production than those with a higher PG:VG ratio. VG is typically derived from vegetables and is often considered vegan, too.

Flavourings: Many e-liquids will come with a distinct flavour, which results from flavourings being added to the e-liquid. E-liquid flavours can range from tobacco-tasting notes to menthol, ice, and many more. As such a variety of flavours are potentially available, the flavourings used (and whether or not they’re vegan) can vary depending on the exact product in question. 

Some providers claim to stock vegan vape e-liquids, while others do not. When in doubt, it’s best to check the exact ingredients of an e-liquid to see whether it’s suitable for this diet. To learn more about what’s in e-liquid, head to our guide ‘What Is In Vape Juice?

Ethical Considerations

The answer to the question ‘is vaping vegan?’ can be complicated, as there are multiple different factors to consider besides its contents. There are various reasons why someone may follow a vegan diet, one of which is to reduce their impact on the environment. Those who share this particular value may also want to know what effects the vapes they’re using have on the planet, and how they can minimise this by choosing the right products. 

As well as examining the contents of vegan vape products, you may want to explore how they’re manufactured and delivered, and whether you can sustainably dispose of them. Some vapes may offer a recycling scheme, encouraging users to recycle their used-up products. For example, our disposable vape VEEV NOW can be returned for recycling.* Find out more about our VEEV NOW Recycling Programme by following the link. For more general information on this topic, read our guide ‘How to Dispose of Disposable Vapes’.

Is Tobacco Vegan?

Tobacco is derived from certain Nicotiana species, which are plants. However, the precise answer to the question, ‘is tobacco vegan?’ is more complicated than just its source. The way tobacco is made will depend on the product and brand in question, as different products will have different manufacturing processes, as well as different ingredients - both of which may not comply with vegan beliefs. 

If you’re wondering whether tobacco is vegan, it may be helpful to research specific products, exploring their ingredients and the processes involved in making them. This could give you a more definitive answer to whether tobacco is vegan or not.

Smoke-Free Alternatives

Aside from a tobacco product not complying with your diet, it might also be worth switching over from continued use of certain tobacco products to another alternative. For example, certain smoke-free alternatives can be a better alternative to continued smoking

VEEV NOW is just one example of a smoke-free alternative to continued smoking. In fact, VEEV NOW emits on average 99% lower levels of harmful chemicals compared to cigarettes.** Moreover, VEEV e-liquids are from non-animal origin.

Important information: this does not necessarily equal a 99% reduction in risk. VEEV NOW is not risk-free.

There are also certain smoke-free tobacco products with ingredients that aren’t of animal origin either – such as HEETS tobacco sticks. These tobacco sticks are to be used exclusively with certain IQOS devices, including IQOS ORIGINALS.

* Return your device and we will recycle the recyclable components.

** 99% less” represents the average reductions in levels of a range of harmful chemicals (excluding nicotine) compared to the smoke of a reference cigarette. See Important Information on

Smoke-free products are not risk-free and provide nicotine, which is addictive. The best decision any adult smoker can make is to quit tobacco and nicotine use altogether. Smoke-free products are not alternatives to quitting and are not designed as cessation aids.

This article is for general information and educational purposes. Some of the information in this article is based on external, third-party sources and we make no representations or warranties of any kind regarding the accuracy, validity or completeness of such information.

Man holding IQOS ILUMA

30% off your first IQOS

Get your first IQOS for more than 30% off.

Get a referral code